Advisory Board


The UCF Center for Community Schools Advisory Board comprises leaders in community schools and other fields who provide expertise in support of the center’s mission and vision. Its members help to sustain and expand the center’s efforts, access knowledge-based resources, support program accountability through guidance and feedback, and serve as ambassadors in community collaborations.


Meetings are scheduled as needed but no less than once per quarter and may be in person or via teleconference. An agenda and any materials to be reviewed are sent to all participants at least one week prior to each meeting.


Rebecca Burns, Ph.D.
Bill Herrold Endowed Professor and Director of Clinical Practice & Educational Partnerships
UNF College of Education and Human Services

Malcolm Butler, Ph.D.
Professor and Dean
University of North Carolina, Charlotte

Mr. Braulio Colón
Vice President-Florida Student Success Initiatives
Helios Education Foundation

Amy Ellis, Ed.D.
UCF Center for Community Schools

Abe Fernández
Vice President of Collective Impact and Director
National Center for Community Schools

Florencio “Eloy” Hernandez, D.Sci.
Professor and Associate Dean, Research
UCF College of Community Innovation and Education

Tara Hormell
Senior Vice President of Operations
Children’s Home Society of Florida

Jerry Johnson, Ed.D.
Chair and Lydia E. Skeen Endowed Professor in Education
Department of Educational Leadership
Kansas State University

Jane Quinn
Former Vice President, Community Schools
Director, National Center for Community Schools

Tim Smith
Escambia County School District

Scroll to top